Aubergine pâté

Well then, let’s get down to business and see what is left on my plate once I leave out meat, dairy products and eggs: it had never occurred to me that a lot of things that I had prepared without using any of the above ingredients were ‘vegan’. For example, aubergine pate, well, as long as I use oil, rather than the mayonnaise.

Ingredients
1 aubergine (eggplant to American readers)
1-2 cloves of garlic
1-2 dl oil (if it is only partly olive oil that is also fine)
Salt and pepper to taste
You can cook aubergine in the oven, but I don’t usually light up the oven for a single aubergine. More often than not I use a contact grill or cook thick slices in a non-stick frying pan—as I have done on this occasion. It leaves you with beautiful golden brown slices that I separate from their skins before popping the flesh into the bowl of the food processor or liquidiser. I add sliced ​​garlic, a little salt, some freshly ground pepper and some oil (it is difficult to determine exactly how much oil to add, obviously it depends on the size of the aubergine and on how much oil I manage to work into the aubergine flesh as I add it a little at a time) mixing it until I get a light, fluffy, creamy and homogeneous paste.
We ate it with toast, rye bread and salad vegetables.

Photo by David Orosz

Cheers!

