Tomato and Yellow Split Pea Dhal

The last time I ate yellow split peas was as a child. Not because I particularly hated them, but because the memory of that soggy canteen slop never excited me into nostalgically revisiting the dish. However, now that my way of life has changed, I thought that I would because I realise they are a terrifically good source of protein in vegan food. I also fancied experimenting a little, not least because I think that delicious food can be prepared from most ingredients. As it turns out it was a jolly good thing that I came over all experimental because this is a truly delicious and easy to make dhal (the Indian name for legumes cooked in water)

Ingredients
30 grams of dried yellow split peas
1 can of chopped tomatoes
2 cloves garlic
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp curry
1 tsp of linseed flour
I put twice as much water as peas in a pot and then cover it (if they soak for a couple  of hours beforehand they soften more quickly – although in any case they don’t take long to cook). When they were soft, but not boiled to bits, I added the tinned tomatoes, spices, crushed garlic and linseed flour. The latter helps in thickening, but plain white flour will do very well, or use less water instead.
If it comes out thin it will make a brilliant soup (croutons are delicious with it), if it is thicker then you can serve it with rice. No need to worry, it will be perfect however it comes out and you won’t regret it!

Photos by David Orosz

IMG_0144.jpg

 

Cheers!

