Dough Twists

I have been planning to make some dough twists for weeks, but it has been too hot and I just could not bring myself to do it. Unfortunately, when the time came, I searched in vain for the recipe in my mother’s old handwritten cookbook, which is where most of my mother’s recipes are, the recipe for twists was not among them. I could have sworn it was there!
So I was forced to turn to the internet in my search and choose among the unknown and untried recipes there (not that there was much difference in the recipes to choose between).
I chose, I fried them, we ate them, and we did enjoy them. But this was not the dough I had been waiting for, although there was a hint of my childhood dough twists. I was disappointed. Really, they were ok… but just the same… There was nothing actually wrong with them. If only I had not called them ‘dough twists’ then I would have been perfectly satisfied.
I shall try again though, and if you have any ideas then do let me know!
What I am looking for is something that is thin, airy and a little bit crisp. This was a bit of a soft dough this time. It had a good flavour, but it didn’t have enough air in it, and it wasn’t crisp at all.

Ingredients:
500g plain flour
50g of icing sugar
100g butter
a large pinch of salt
4 egg yolks
2 whole eggs
small cup of soured cream (up to 200ml)
at least half a litre of oil for frying
Mix the flour, icing sugar and salt in a bowl. Cut in the butter and mix until it looks like breadcrumbs. Add the eggs and the egg yolks as well as the soured cream. Mix well until you have a good, flexible dough. If it is very sticky, then knead it on a floured board. Put it in a plastic bag or wrap in clingfilm and put it in the fridge for half an hour to rest before dividing it into two parts. Roll/stretch it out until it is quite thin (about 1-1.5 mm), and cut it into strips (see photos!). Cut the centre of the strips as shown then pull one end through the centre to make your dough twists (again, look at the photos!).
In a deep pan, heat the oil and fry them a few at a time for 1-2 minutes until golden brown on both sides. Shake off the oil and sprinkle with powdered sugar, serve with jam.

Photos: David Orosz

img_3278img_3281img_3291img_3292img_3294img_3298img_3302

Cheers!

